Time to Get Organized

Motivated by the Crafty Procrastinator’s post “DIY: The Great Thread Clean Up” I decided it was time to get my crafting space into working order. Up until yesterday my crafting occurred either at the kitchen table, which is great for space, but unfortunately with mood lighting in situ if I craft in the evening it is a strain on the eyes. My other option, the “coffee table” aka a leather ottoman has good lighting, but it is difficult to maintain proper back posture. Both options created a crafting mess and disorganization in multiple areas in our home. So, it was high time to get things sorted, especially now that baby Jack is becoming a lot more mobile. He can’t quite crawl but has a speedy log roll and rather strange back shuffle that he is attempting to perfect. Also, now that the Polka-Dot Duchess is up and running I want to turn some attention to increasing efficiency in my work flow.

Without further adieu, I present to you…

We live in a space challenged home built in 1907. The attic was converted into a three bedroom area and the basement is unfinished so my only option at this point in time is a nook in the living room. I’m going to call this phase 1 and hopefully over time it will become more organized. It does look slightly cluttered but I can assure you that there is a system in place. The zebra box houses my feather collection, the bright blue box on the window sill houses everything I need for packaging, the white box houses the completed fascinators, the hat box is for the fascinators in progress, and the grey box keeps the veiling and crin.
All in all I am quite happy with phase 1 of my crafting studio. I love the vibe and cannot wait for Jack to nap so that I can indulge in my new space. Edith Piaf playing softy in the background while I sit dreaming of being Coco and creating beautiful fascinators!

I would love to hear about your crafting space and what inspires your craft!

3 thoughts on “Time to Get Organized

  1. Oh Janine ! Edith Piaf and Coco Channel – you yearn for Europe so I could give you a purpose built studio in the garden and watch Jack while you work – per chance to dream!

    Love Bernadette

Leave a comment